Video
Leave a Comment

Philip Johnson | most POWERFUL / INFLUENTIAL architect of all time


Philip Johnson like you never thought he’d be: self-mocking, hilarious… and wise of course.

“I didn’t know I was such a famous and delightful person”

Philip Johnson talks about himself, his architecture, his mentors and the new emerging architects.

Needless to say, these guys are today’s archistars: Frank Gehry, Peter Eisenman, Robert Venturi, Richard Meier…

FUN FACT: In his early career as an architect without a license he kept moving around the U.S. to avoid legislation, only to be forced into school well beyond his 30s.

“I couldn’t wait for such a thing as a license, cause that meant I had to go to school, write a thesis, draw… I still can’t draw at this moment!”

An inspiring and entertaining talk with Philip Johnson.


WHAT DO YOU THINK ?